How IPL became the world’s most valuable tournament

IPL  is a prestigious 20-20 cricket league, consisting of eight teams, each based in a different city across India. IPL was founded in 2007 by the BCCI, India. Use the best ipl betting apps to make a successful cricket bet.

There is an exclusive schedule in ICC Tours, where IPL takes place each year between March and May.

There is no competition that attracts more spectators than the IPL, which in 2014 ranked 6th in average attendance out of all other sports events. Live streaming of the IPL for the first time ever on YouTube was completed in 2010.

There are 6.7 billion dollars in brand value associated with the IPL season 2019, as per the  Duff & Phelps reports. As per BCCI data, the IPL  2015 season added US$160 million to the  Indian economy.

The IPL has been played for a total of thirteen seasons. Mumbai Indians are the current IPL champions, having won the season of 2020. Since the pandemic for COVID-19 caused the venue to be relocated, the 2020 season took place in the UAE.

Format of the tournament

Currently, there are eight teams in the league phase and they all play each other twice. As the league stage comes to a close, the top 4 teams will make the playoffs. In the first qualifying match, the top two teams will face off, and the winner goes straight into the final, while the loser gets a second chance to qualify for the IPL final by playing the next qualifier match.  

Additionally, the third place and fourth-placed teams from the league phase will play an elimination game, whose winner will take on the loser of the first qualifying game. 

When the second qualifying match is complete, the winning team will proceed to the IPL Final, which will determine the IPL champion.

Rules of the tournament

The IPL has television timeouts, so time limits do not exist for teams to finish their innings. The umpires may impose a penalty if they find that a team is abusing this privilege. During each inning, each team is granted a strategic timeout of two and a half minutes. 

It is the bowling team’s duty to take one between the Sixth and Ninth overs, and the batting team’s duty to take one between the thirteenth and sixteenth overs. As of the 2018 season, The Umpire’s DRS system is introduced in the 2018 IPL season which allows each team to get once a review of on-field umpires or decision or call per innings.

The prize money

There was US$7.0 million in prize money for the 2019 IPL season, a total of US$2.8 million for the winning team. There were US$1.8 million and US$1.2 million awarded to the first and second runners up, respectively, and another US$1.2 million was given to the fourth-place team. There is no prize money for the other teams. Players must get share half of the winning money according to the IPL rules.